- See more at: http://blogtimenow.com/blogging/automatically-redirect-blogger-blog-another-blog-website/#sthash.Q6qPkwFC.dpuf Bronx Events: Register for Kingsbridge Heights Community CenterFall Programs | Bronx News Networkbronx

Monday, August 8, 2011

Bronx Events: Register for Kingsbridge Heights Community CenterFall Programs

Like other community centers around the borough, the Kingsbridge Heights Community Center is registering now for its programs, including: 

Teen Center & Tween Program -- offers 6th to 8th graders activities tailored to their age group. Some of these activities include athletics, arts, peer mediation, counseling, and leadership training. Contact: Jessica Cuevas, at jcuevas@khcc-nyc.org or call (718) 884.0700 ext. 149.

 High school students are welcome to participate and earn community service credit hours. Contact: Sadie Mahoney at smahoney@khcc-nyc.org or call (718) 884.0700 ext. 186.

College Directions -- This program assists college applicants every step of the way, from searching to scholarships to writing the application essay. Our program helps students explore career options, prepare for the SAT, and offers one-on-one guidance. Contact: Allison Torres at atorres@khcc-nyc.org or call (718) 884-0700 ext. 169.
[Find more programs and a listing of events after the jump.]

After School Program -- offers children and their families a safe and fun environment when school lets out. Children ages 6-12 are invited for recreation and education Monday through Friday, 3:00pm-7:00pm. Our After School program activities include homework help, field trips, and multicultural events. Dinner is included. Contact: Lamont Jackson at ljackson@khcc-nyc.org or call 718-884-0700 ext. 198. 

Special Needs Program -- This program offers individuals with a developmental or intellectual disability and their families a caring and structured environment. We offer free programs that provide special care and respite to working parents living in the Bronx. Our Special Needs After School program offers youth ages 5-21 tutoring, arts and crafts, physical education, and much more. Contact: Hanna Gabris at hgabris@khcc-nyc.org or call (718) 884-0700 ext. 202. 

Entrepreneurship Certificate Program -- This is a distance learning course taught by Lehman College instructors while students participate live via video conferencing. Kingsbridge Heights will be hosting informational sessions for those interested in learning more about this innovative course on Wednesday, Aug. 17 and Thursday Aug. 18. Registration for the course will begin on Monday Aug. 29. Contact: Aida Hernandez at ahernandez@khcc-nyc.org or call (718) 884-0700 ext. 100.

 Check out our calendar for more upcoming events.

Editor's note: What did we miss? Send details to bronxnewsnetwork@gmail.com.


Post a Comment

Bronx News Network reserves the right to remove comments that include personal attacks, name calling, foul language, commercial advertisements, spam, or any language that might be considered threatening, libelous or inciting hate.

User comments are reviewed by BxNN staff and may be included or excluded at our discretion.

If what you have to say is unrelated to this particular post, please visit our readers' forum.